Join Us

The Bendigo University Athletics Club conducts a Cross Country running program through the Winter months and hosts a track team for the Summer season that competes against other clubs.

The club is open to runners of all ages and abilities catering mainly to those living in the Bendigo community or surrounding areas. Cross country races are held each Saturday at 2pm in various bush locations around Bendigo. The program program has details.

Runners are handicapped so that each competitor has a chance to win the race and accumulate aggregate points for the Club Champion Award. The fastest runners can also accumulate aggregate points for the Speed Champion Award. Although ribbons are awarded to place getters each week and there are trophies at the end of the year, the club’s focus is on providing a relaxed, supportive atmosphere rather than a highly competitive one. Afternoon teas are a feature of club runs and gives members a chance to compare training techniques, talk about upcoming events or simply chew the fat on common interests.

For more information, check out the FAQ for new members, download the program, registration form or the registration form as a docx or contact the president or one of the committee.


Name Position Contact
Ross Douglas President 0418 322 244
Jenny Lee Vice President 0410 448 245
David Lonsdale Secretary 0429 944 009
Ben McDermid Treasurer 0428 164 481
Gavin Fiedler Publicity 03 5443 1714
Andrew Creer Handicapper 0431 831 479
Andrea Smith Timekeeper 0418 325 142
Darren Rowe Committee Member 0418 505 955
David Heislers Committee Member 0439 654 066